Having a Vegan for dinner

I have a friend who is a Vegan.  Personally, I don’t want to live in a world without pork fat, but I’m not judging anyone and she seems like a good person in spite of this belief she insists on having.

I’m kidding, but I really don’t know much about being a Vegan.  It’s like a super strict vegetarian diet, but you can’t fall back on another of my favorite ingredients…  Butter.  If the zombie apocalypse did come, I wouldn’t really choose to live if I had no access to butter or bacon.

Anyway, the point is I invited her for dinner.  She offered to bring her own food, but I said no.  It didn’t make much sense to me for her to be invited to my house, yet still have to make her own dinner. 

I do have a problem, in addition to learning how to cook like a Vegan by Sunday, and that is how do I make something that my other guests will be willing to eat?  My other friends love bacon and butter almost as much as I do.

So I went to the library and started to read.  I found a vegan pie crust, so I’m going to make a tomato, olive, onion sort of thing.  It’s going to be somewhat like a pizza, but without the cheese.

 Surprisingly, she told me that not all wine is Vegan.  Something about fish guts, but she’s willing to compromise on this issue.  I’m going to ask the guy at the wine store anyway.

 So, here is the crust I’m going to try.  There are variations with coconut oil, but I’m highly allergic to coconut and I don’t know what coconut and olives might taste like.  I’m not sure what coconut tastes like, but I’m pretty sure it doesn’t mesh well with olives. 

 Vegan Pie crust

2 cups of flour

1 Tablespoon of sugar

½ teaspoon of salt

½ cup plus 2 Tablespoons of Vegan margarine. 

            I found this at Whole Foods.

2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil

3 Tablespoons of ice water

Place flour, sugar, and salt in the bowl of a food processor.  Add the vegan margarine while using the pulse button on your food processor.

Add the oil and ice water to the margarine mixture and continue pulsing until it’s mixed. 

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Roll it out and place in a pie plate or tart pan.

Image

This was pretty different for me.  It didn’t have the consistency I was used to, but it held together well and I didn’t have problems rolling it out.  In spite of the fact that it’s a humid day in Philadelphia.

I did make sure that the vegan margarine was super cold when I cut it into the dough, which is what you’d do for a regular carnivore’s piecrust.

I grilled eggplant and mushrooms, added some tomatoes, and sprinkled with olives.  Then, bake for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Image

P.S.  I didn’t put hot vegetables in the pie crust, I chilled them for about an hour in the refrigerator.  If they go in the crust hot, they will melt the margarine and things could get sloppy.

Thanks, Lisa, for being a good friend!  I hope you’ll come for dinner again and again.  Especially now that I know where to buy Vegan margarine.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Having a Vegan for dinner

Leave a Reply

