Happy, happy Thanksgiving.

I love holidays and birthdays.  It’s a great time to really look at your life and think about all the amazing things that have happened.  It’s also a great time to look ahead and be excited for all the things that will come your way.

A year ago, right before Christmas, I was laid off.  Even though I hated the job, I was devastated.  I’ve been raising four amazing children relatively alone for about six years now.  I have amazing support from my close friends (you know who you are) and my loving and amazing parents and family.  Nonetheless, I had no resources.  My savings were eradicated because of the divorce.  I had to file for unemployment, something I’d never even contemplated.  I felt desperate and completely alone.  I felt I had no one to turn to.  I know there are many people reading this who have felt the same way at one time or another, you may even feel that way today.  I’m sorry you’ve been through that.

While this wasn’t the lowest point of my life, it wasn’t my favorite time either.

I wrote The Formerly Destitute Diva for people like me, and people not like me.  People who had hit rough times and people who just wanted to make things easier for themselves and their families.  The entire purpose of this undertaking was to eventually reach survivors of domestic abuse.  I want to pay it forward.  I want other women to reach their fullest potential.  I hope this book and the corresponding blog (along with a few other projects I have going) can be the catalyst that helps you make the change.

It’s been hard.  I’ve hit bumps in the road, missed deadlines, cried, not slept.  But the book is shipping now.  Finally.  If you’ve ordered, hang on.  It’s coming.  The foundation will be set up tentatively by January 15, 2014.  God willing.

What I want to say to all of you is this:  Thank you, thank you, thank you for believing in this and helping me get back on my path and to the place that I can help others.  This is what I have always seen myself doing.  I love the part of you that has helped this mission and supported me through this.  I hope more good things are to come for this project and for you and your families.

So I say, as overly sentimental as I often am, thank you for being there for The Formerly Destitute Diva.  We totally appreciate you!

Leave a Reply

