Ten Dollar Tuesday

I hope everyone is planning their Thanksgiving and you’ll all get time to spend with the people you love.

I wanted to try an easy dessert that people could take with them on Thanksgiving or make ahead prior to everyone coming over.  This week, we made an apple cranberry crisp, but that’s best when it comes right out of the oven.  Another good one is chocolate bread pudding.

My kids won’t eat the butts of the bread, I usually make bread crumbs with those.  I have two loaves of French bread left from a dinner I made Sunday, so that’s what I’m using.  Under normal circumstances, I’d make it with cinnamon raisin bread.  In other words, you have options.  🙂

1 Tablespoon of butter

Left over bread, the equivalent to 12 slices of bread.

2 cups of milk

3/4 cup of bittersweet chocolate (you can use semisweet chocolate)

2 eggs

1/2 sugar

1/2 teaspoon or vanilla or bourbon (whatever you like best or have on hand)

1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

Confectioners’ sugar to dust the top

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter or spray your 11×17 inch baking dish.

If you’re using fresh bread, you’ll want to toast it.  I’m using the left over French bread so it’s pretty crunchy as it is.  Break the bread into chunks (great job for the kids).

Mix the chocolate, milk, and butter in a saucepan until the chocolate has melted.

In a separate bowl, mix the eggs with the sugar and vanilla.  SLOWLY whisk in the warm milk/ chocolate mixture to the eggs.  Pour it over the bread.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes or leave it and bake it at your Thanksgiving destination. It’s amazing when it’s warm.  You can dust it with the Confectioners’ sugar before serving.  It’s also amazing with vanilla ice cream on top.

Whatever you’re doing this year for Thanksgiving, I hope you have a great time.  I want to thank you all for following the blog and supporting me.  Enjoy your families and be safe!  xoxo

Leave a Reply

